Robin Niblett

Director, Chatham House


Robin Niblett became the Director of Chatham House (the Royal Institute of International Affairs) in January 2007. Before joining Chatham House, from 2001 to 2006, Dr Niblett was the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Washington-based Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). During his last two years at CSIS, he also served as Director of the CSIS Europe Programme and its Initiative for a Renewed Transatlantic Partnership.

Dr Niblett’s commentary and analysis have appeared in the Financial Times, Washington Post, Daily Telegraph, Guardian and Reuters. He is the author of Britain, the EU and the Sovereignty Myth (Chatham House 2016), Britain, Europe and the World: Rethinking the UK’s Circles of Influence (Chatham House, 2015), and Playing to its Strengths: Rethinking the UK’s Role in a Changing World (Chatham House, 2010).
He is also editor and contributing author to America and a Changed World: A Question of Leadership (Chatham House/Wiley-Blackwell, 2010); a contributor to Influencing Tomorrow: Future Challenges for British Foreign Policy (Guardian Books, 2013) by Douglas Alexander MP and Dr Ian Kearns; author and contributor to a number of CSIS reports on transatlantic relations, and contributing author and co-editor with William Wallace of Rethinking European Order (Palgrave, 2001).

Dr Niblett is a frequent panellist at conferences on Europe and transatlantic relations. He has testified on a number of occasions to the House of Commons Defence Select Committee and Foreign Affairs Committee as well as the US Senate and House Committees on European Affairs.

He is a Non-Executive Director of Fidelity European Values Investment Trust. He is a Special Adviser to the House of Commons Foreign Affairs Committee (since 2015). He was Chairman of the Experts Group for the 2014 NATO Summit. He was Chairman of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Europe (2012-13) and Chair of the British Academy Steering Committee of Languages for Security Project (2013). In 2012 he was awarded the Bene Merito medal by the Polish government.
He became a Companion of St Michael and St George (CMG) in 2015.

He received his BA in Modern Languages and MPhil and DPhil from New College, Oxford


Meet Our Speakers

This year the Santander International Banking Conference is bringing together representatives from the most relevant public and private institutions who will take part in different keynotes, conversations and panels throughout the day.

Ana Botín
Executive Chairman, Banco Santander
José Antonio
Chief Executive Officer, Banco Santander
Markus Kerber
Director General and Member of the Presidential Board, Federation of German Industries (BDI)
Andreas Dombret
Member of the Executive Board, Deutsche Bundesbank
Martin Hellwig
Director, Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods
John Berrigan
Deputy Director-General, European Commission, DG for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union
Mauro Grande
Board Member and Director Strategy and Policy Coordination, Single Resolution Board
Verena Ross
Executive Director, European Securities and Markets Authority
Robert Frohwein
Chief Executive Officer, Kabbage
Luis María Linde
Governor , Bank of Spain
Frank D`Souza
Chief Executive Officer and member of the Board of Directors, Cognizant; Member of the Board of Directors, General Electric; Member, Santander International Advisory Board
Eileen Burbidge
FinTech Envoy, HM Treasury
Senior Fellow , Center for Global Development
Director of Strategy and Competition, UK Financial Conduct Authority
Robin Niblett
Director, Chatham House
Burkhard Balz
Member of the Committee for Economic & Monetary Affairs, European Parliament
Giuseppe Siani
Deputy Director General of Microprudential Supervision IV, ECB Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM)
Shriti Vadera
Chairman, Banco Santander UK
Jose María Roldán
Chairman, AEB
Silvia Marques
Director of Regulation, Central Bank of Brazil
Luis de Guindos
Minister of Economic Affairs, Industry and Competitiveness, Government of Spain